Berea-Laurel Ridges Chapter

Berea, Kentucky


Linda Katherine Owens Jennings, Regent

Carol Barrier, Vice Regent

Nina Locker, Chaplain

Brenda Moss, Recording Secretary

Linda Jennings, Corresponding Secretary

Mary Beth Bevins, Treasurer

Wanda Lombardo, Registrar

Deanie Catron, Historian

Deanie Catron, Librarian


◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊




The Berea-Laurel Ridges Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution, was organized March 22, 1930, with the following members: Mrs. C. H. Burdette, Mrs. R. R. Coyle, Mrs. J. L. Gay, Mrs. W. F. Hays, Mrs. J. M. Kinnard, Mrs. Ellen H. Mitchell, Mrs. Janet M. Murbach, Mrs. I. N. Odell, Mrs. T. J. Osborne, Mrs. J. F. Smith, Mrs. J. W. Stephens, and Miss Grace Wright. Mrs. J. F. Smith was the organizing regent and also the first regent of the chapter.


The chapter takes its name from the town, Berea, and the great mountain region of the South where it is situated. This area was at one time called "The Great Laurel Ridge" or Cumberland Mountains. This wildflower, the laurel, still grows on many hills and rises, as in the Revolutionary days when the Indians and deer roamed the hill country. The name Berea is taken from the place mentioned in the New Testament, whose inhabitants were "more noble than those of Thessalonica, because they searched the Scriptures daily."





Updated February 6, 2019

The content contained herein does not necessarily represent the position of the NSDAR. Hyperlinks to other sites

are not the responsibility of the NSDAR, the state organizations, or individual DAR chapters.


This website is maintained by the Webmaster.