Frankfort Chapter

Frankfort, Kentucky


Mickey Jo Combs Smith, Regent

Patricia Knapke, Vice Regent

Michele Morgan, Chaplain

Carla Hawkins, Recording Secretary

Kristen Bell, Corresponding Secretary

Tina Wingate, Treasurer

Brenda Hume, Registrar

Jan Barnes, Historian

Alice Hobson, Librarian


◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊




Frankfort Chapter, NSDAR


A special honor is given to Eleanor Holmes Lindsay (1861-1934),founding regent of Frankfort Chapter, and to all the chapter members who embarked on this adventure with her.

Mrs. Lindsay became a member of DAR in 1893 while in Washington D.C., where her husband served in the U.S. Senate. Her application papers were signed by Mary DeSha, one of the founding members of the National Society Daughters of the American Revolution.


While in our Nation’s Capital, she served in numerous capacities for the DAR, including three 2-year terms as Vice President General. In 1906, she was made Honorary Vice President General for Life. One of her most significant contributions was as chairman of the Committee on Architecture for Memorial Continental Hall.

Returning to Frankfort, Mrs. Lindsay became a member of the Susannah Hart Shelby Chapter, and in 1913, she and other members of that chapter established the Frankfort Chapter where she served as the organizing regent.


A portrait of Mrs. Lindsay hangs in the Ardery Room at our Kentucky State Society headquarters, Duncan Tavern Historic Center in Paris, Kentucky.


With this, we express our gratitude to Eleanor Holmes Lindsay for setting the example of leadership and service, and establishing the Frankfort Chapter NSDAR.





Updated May 20, 2019

The content contained herein does not necessarily represent the position of the NSDAR. Hyperlinks to other sites

are not the responsibility of the NSDAR, the state organizations, or individual DAR chapters.


This website is maintained by the Webmaster.